A unique instrument for the biggest telescope


Project management board

It is the supervisory structure of the Consortium. It is entitled to discuss scientific, managerial and technical topics that do the not affect the contributions of the Parties. This board acts as the executive level of management. This committee includes the persons nominated by the Parties Agencies, the P.I. being a permanent invited member. The main role of the management board is to follow the milestones of the project in coordination with the PI, to review the Consortium Agreement for the Construction Phase that should be signed before entering Phase B, and to organise the scientific and financial support of the ELT/MOS. It will include countries in the core of the project (Partners : France, United Kingdom, The Netherlands, Germany) as well as other participating countries (Associate Partners : Austria, Brazil, Finland, Italy, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Univ. of Michigan and STScI in the USA) including those interested in financially supporting the project in exchange for Guaranteed Observing Time, or their participation in Public Surveys.

The committee is composed of : Jose Afonso (IA, Lisbon Univ.), Portugal - Beatriz Barbuy (IAG, Sao Paulo), Brazil - Christopher J. Miller (Univ. of Michigan), USA - Jean-Gabriel Cuby (Marseille, LAM), France - Alexis Finogenov (Helsinki Univ.), Finland - Jesus Gallego (Madrid, Computense Univ.), Spain - Lex Kaper (Amsterdam Univ.), Netherlands - Susan Kassin (STScI), USA - Simon Morris (Durham Univ.), U.K. - Goran Ostlin (Stockholm Univ.), Sweden - Laura Pentericci (INAF-Osservatorio Astronomico di Roma), Italy - Matthias Steinmetz (AIP, Potsdam), Germany - Daniel Schaerer (Univ. of Geneva), Switzerland - Bodo Ziegler (Vienna Univ.), Austria.